About the Puppeteers of America - Awards - History of Awards, Timeline

Awards are usually presented every two years at national puppetry festivals. Any member of Puppeteers of America can make a nomination for an award. The deadline for nominations is January 1st of the year of a national festival. The awards committee is entirely independent and its recommendations cannot be altered by the Board of Trustees.

President's Award, established in 1968 For outstanding contributions to the Art of Puppetry.		Puppeteers of America Award, established in 1972 Recognizes contributions to puppetry by persons or groups not immediately involved in the field.	
1968	Rena Prim	1972	Plays Inc.
1969	Jim Henson	21	Mississippi Authority fo Educational Television
1970	no award	1973	Children's Television Workshop
1971	Marjorie Batchelder McPharlin		Detroit Institute of Art
1972	Olga Stevens	1974	Snoopy (Charles Schulz)
1973	Burr Tillstrom	1975	American Broadcasting Company
1974	Rufus & Margo Rose	1976	no award
1975	Bil Baird	1977	no award
1976	Frank Ballard	1978	no award
1977	Dick Myers	1979	no award
1978	George Latshaw	1980	no award
1979	The Bread & Puppet Theatre - Peter Schumann	1981	WQED Television, Pittsburgh, PA
1980	Coad Canada - Arlyn & Luman Coad	1982	Fred Rogers
1981	Martin Stevens	1983	The 11 Museums that exhibited "Puppets: Art and Entertainment"
1982	Lettie Schubert	1984	Neiman-Marcus, Fort Worth, TX
1983	Basil Milovsoroff	1985	The Asia Society
1984	Frank Oz Frank Paris	1986	The Museum of Science and Industry Chicago Illinois Federation of Women's Club
1985	Carrol Spinney	1987	Entertainment This Week
1986	Ron Herrick	1988	Horizon: the Magazine of the Arts
1987	Bob Baker		"Little Shop of Horrors"
	Ralph Chesse	1989	Maurice Sendak
1988	Lewis Mahlmann	1990	Craft and Sew Magazine WSOC-TV, Charlotte, NC Charles MacNider Museum, Mason City, IA
1989	Vince Anthony Poul Vincent David	1991	Federal Theatre Project of George Mason University
1990	Paul Vincent-Davis	1992	Nickelodean Network
1991	Jim Gamble		Rita Dove
1992	Jero Magon	1993	Freida the Opera
1993	no award	1001	The Discovery Theater of the Smithsonian Institute
1994	Grey Seal Puppets - Drew Allison & Donald Devet	1994	City of Tampa, FL Marguell Church Four dation
1995	Phillip Huber	1995	Maxwell Gluck Foundation
1997	David Simpich and Terry Snyder	1997	Hartford Stage Company University of Connecticut
1999	Kermit Love and Julie Taymor	1999	Children's Fairyland
2001	Ronnie Burkett	2001	Lawrence Baranski: Detroit Institute of Arts
2003	Tony Urbano Puppetmongers - Ann & David Powell	2001	Joseph Papp Public Theatre
	Rene Zendejas		CBS Sunday Morning
2005	Bill Fosser - Opera in Focus	2005	Jarvis Conservatory
2007	Bob Brown	2007 2009	Msgt Bruce Reges
2009	Allie Scollon	2009	

Trustee's Award, established 1974 Honors outstanding service to the Puppeteers of America.

	• •
1974	Archie Elliot
1975	Emma Warfield
1976	Greg and Marie Samanisky
1977	Don Avery
1978	Mollie Falkenstein
1979	Rachel Redinger
1980	no award
	Ellen Proctor

Jim Henson Award established in 1997

(formerly Vice President's Award for Innovation) Recognizes innovation in puppetry that is technological, dramaturgical or collaborative in nature.

1997	National Puppetry Conference
1999	Rose Sage, for the Puppetry Home Page
2001	Michael Curry
2003	Hanne Tierney
2005	Great Small Works
2007	Brian Windsor

1981	Nancy Staub			
			George Latshaw Award, established 1999	
1982	Lanelle Rice	Recogr	nizes accomplishments in writing and publishing in the field of puppetry.	
1983	Fern Zwickey	1000	Mahal Daatan	
1984	Alan Cook Gayle Schluter	1999	Mabel Beaton	
	Audley Grossman	2001	Andrew & Bonnie Periale Paul Eide	
1985	Don Schluter	2003	Luman Coad	
1986	no award	2005	Larry Engler	
1987	Kathy Piper	2007	Steve Abrams	
1988	Margo Rose	2009	Bob Nathanson	
1989	Peter Zapletal			
1990	Doug & Gayle Anderson	Marjori	Marjorie Batchelder McPharlin Award established in 2001	
1991	Rod Young	For contributions in the field of puppetry in education and therapy.		
	Nancy Laverick			
1992	Paul Eide	2001	Bruce Chesse	
1000	Lettie Schubert Frank Ballard	2003	Michelee Puppets	
1993	Steve Schutt	2005	Bart P. Roccoberton, Jr.	
	Evey Brown	2007	Judith O'Hare	
1994	Nancy Frazier	2009	Matthew Bernier	
	Lynne Jennings			
1995	George Latshaw M'El Reum			
	Marilyn Myers			
1997	Arlyn & Luman Coad			
- / / /	Norman Gibson			
1999	Tom Fogarty Jan Berckefeldt			
	Joyce & Chuck Berty			
2001	Norma Bigler			
2003	Allelu Kurten			
U	Jody Wren			
2005	Jim Malone Jean Hasselschwert			
2007	Randel McGee			
2009	Marianne & Tom Tucker			